UP TO 50% OFF on Combo Courses!

CCSP vs CCSK: Which one to choose?

We can see a massive amount of data workloads, and applications are moving to the cloud by the companies to secure their data. As cloud-based databases evolve in almost all companies, the demand for cloud security experts is increasing today. In this comprehensive blog, we will perform a breakdown of two highly recommended cloud security certifications that offer a complete understanding of cloud security and some insights into choosing the best suitable certifications for an individual.

Table of Contents

What is CCSP?
CCSP Course Details
Domains in CCSP
What is CCSK?
CCSK Course Details
Modules in CCSK
Comparing the CCSP and CCSK Cloud Security Certifications
CCSP vs. CCSK: Which one to choose?

CCSP vs CCSK: Which one to choose

What is CCSP?

Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP) is a global credential representing a high standard of cloud security expertise. This certification was introduced by Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) and ISC2 to create the CCSP course and certification exam. CCSP exam evaluates the cloud security knowledge and practical experience of an aspirant.

The CCSP certificate validates your technical skills and knowledge to design, manage, and secure data, infrastructure, and applications in the cloud. It is designed and built on CISSP and CCSK certification and addresses the importance of security professionals who have the required skills and knowledge. The CCSP certification has become the most well-recognized among other cloud security certifications.

CCSP Course Details

Experience: To get the CCSP certificate, one should have five years of full-time, paid, combined data innovation experience, three years of cloud security, and one year of cloud computing experience.

Exam Format Multiple Choice Questions
Exam Duration 3 hours
Number of Questions 125
Passing Score 700 out of 1000
Language Japanese and English

Domains in CCSP
Domain 1: Cloud concepts, Architecture, and Design(17%)
Domain 2: Cloud Data Security (20%)
Domain 3: Cloud Platform & Infrastructure Security(17%)
Domain 4: Cloud Application Security (17%)
Domain 5: Cloud Security Operations (16%)
Domain 6: Legal, Risk, and Compliance (13%)

What is CCSK?

Certified Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK) is widely recognized as a standard of expertise for cloud security and provides a great understanding of how to protect data in the cloud. CCSK is the “mother of all cloud computing security certification” statement coined in the CIO magazine. It is an apt statement as this certification helps professionals enhance their knowledge in cloud security from entry-level to medium-level.

The CCSK certification validates individual knowledge of cloud security issues. It covers all the key areas such as cloud incident response, data encryption, application security, securing emerging technologies, and best practices for IAM. CCSK certification would help you gain the knowledge in which you can develop a holistic cloud security program effectively by meeting all the global standards.

CCSK Course Details

Experience: The CCSK certification does not require any work experience. A basic understanding of security fundamentals such as encryption, firewall, security system, and identity management is recommended.

Exam Format Multiple Choice Questions
Exam Duration 90 minutes
Number of Questions 60
Passing Score 80%
Language English

Modules in CCSK
Module 1. Cloud Architecture
Module 2. Infrastructure Security for Cloud
Module 3. Managing Cloud Security and Risk
Module 4. Data Security for Cloud Computing
Module 5. Application Security and Identity Management for Cloud Computing
Module 6. Cloud Security Operations

Comparing the CCSP and CCSK Cloud Security Certifications

Let’s filter out the differences to get a few considerations on CCSP vs. CCSK.

Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP) Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK)
ISC2, in collaboration with CSA, organizes this certification CSA organizes this certification
It is mainly focused on cloud security and information security It is primarily focused on cloud security
Closed-book exam at the testing center Open-book online exam
Training and exam cost is more expensive compared with CCSK Training and exam cost is less expensive
It is a professional-level certification It is a beginner-level certification

CCSP vs. CCSK: Which one to choose?

The CCSP certification recognizes the value of CCSK and has a provision that CCSK can be a substitute for one year of work experience in six domains of CCSP CBK. CCSP is a certification that grants access to a membership organization and requires an annual Continuing Professional Education (CPE) commitment to maintain the certification. In comparison, CCSK is a certificate representing proof of course completion, and it does not grant access to any membership organization, the body of knowledge, or a CPE.

The CCSP and CCSK credentials complement each other in many ways. CCSK is the best choice to have a good start for an individual who wants to build cloud security as a career. CCSP is for the experienced security professional, and achieving the CCSP certification would help you become a professional as it represents a senior-level understanding of cloud and information security.

Achieving CCSP certification would add value to your profession and make you an expert in cloud and information security with an added benefit of membership in ISC2. Earning a CCSK certificate would be a great start to your cloud security career. Both have their advantages and complement each other. I would recommend CCSK certification to have an excellent start for Cloud security as a career. After gaining the relevant experience and understanding of cloud security, one can go for CCSP certification to become a professional expert.


TRAINING CALENDAR of Upcoming Batches For CCSP

Start Date End Date Start - End Time Batch Type Training Mode Batch Status
29-Jun-2024 11-Aug-2024 09:00 - 13:00 IST Weekend Online [ Close ]
13-Jul-2024 18-Aug-2024 19:00 - 23:00 IST Weekend Online [ Open ]
31-Aug-2024 27-Oct-2024 09:00 - 13:00 IST Weekend Online [ Open ]

Final Words

InfosecTrain is the leading provider of advanced security training with certified and experienced instructors. It offers instructor-led training covering all the necessary cloud security domains of CCSP and CCSK certifications. If you are new to the cloud security field, check out the CCSK training course. If you want to achieve advanced expertise in cloud security, check out our CCSP training course. Our courses would help you gain a complete understanding of cloud and information security topics so you can crack the certification exam seamlessly.


Emaliya Keerthana
Content Writer
Emaliya Keerthana working as a Content Writer at InfosecTrain. She likes to explore the latest technology. She writes on emerging IT-related topics and is passionate about sharing her thoughts through blogs.
Cultivating a CISSP Mindset 10 Questions to Elevate Your Expertise